BEE Council appointed by President

The Broad-Based Black Economic Empowerment Act of 2003 establishes an advisory council to advise the government on the implementation of the Act, the drafting of codes of good practice and other aspects of the transformation agenda.

The council has never been established but now President Jacob Zuma has announced the 19 members of the advisory body.

In the State of the Nation address, the President made an undertaking that government would implement Broad-Based Black Economic Empowerment and affirmative action policies in recognition of the need to correct the imbalances of the past.

The functions of the Council, which is chaired by the President, are to:

  • Advise government on black economic empowerment;
  • Review progress in achieving black economic empowerment;
  • Advise on draft codes of good practice.
  • Advise on draft transformation charters if required and
  • Facilitate partnerships between organs of state and the private sector that will advance the objectives of this Act.
  • If requested to do so, advise on draft transformation charters; and
  • Facilitate partnerships between organs of state and the private sector that will advance the objectives of this


The members are the following:

1. The lead Minister, the Minister of Trade and Industry, Rob Davies.

2. Minister of Labour, Membathisi Mdladlana,

3. Minister of Economic Development, Ebrahim Patel.

4. Minister of Women, Children and Persons with Disabilities. Noluthando Mayende-Sibiya.

5. Professor Mohammed I. Jahed, professor of macro-economic policy, economics and public finance at the Wits University Graduate School of Public and Development Management.

6. Prof Eltie Links, a professor extraordinaire at University of Stellenbosch Business School and also lectures on international trade and economic issues at the University of Pretoria’s Investment and Trade Policy Centre.

7. Ms Wendy Lucas-Bull, a businesswoman and the founder of Peotona Group Holdings, and a former CEO of First Rand and Executive Director of Rand Merchant Bank.

8. Mr Andile Lungisa, Chairperson of the National Youth Development Agency, with extensive experience on issues of youth development.

9. Ms Sebenzile Matsebula, an independent consultant and former Director in the Office on the Status of Disabled Persons in the Presidency, who has worked in the human rights sector from 1986 to date.

10. Mr Jerry Vilakazi, chief executive officer of Business Unity South Africa and a former Managing Director of the Black Management Forum.

11. Dumisani Mthalane, a member of the National Working Committee of the South African National Civics Organisation.

12. Ms Ellen Tshabalala, a business and management consultant with expertise in small, medium and micro-sized enterprises development, banking and marketing.

13. Adv Matshego Ramagaga, Vice-President of Black Lawyers Association and former Chairperson of the Gauteng Branch from 2006 to 2008.

14. Ms Tsakani Matshazi, President of the Association of Black Accountants and Vice-President of the Confederation of Black Business Organisations, with expertise in the provision of financing solutions to SMMEs operating in various sectors of the regional economy.

15. Mr Sidumo Dlamini, President of the Congress of South African Trade Unions, representing the labour sector.

16. Mr Sandile Zungu, businessman with extensive experience having served in various companies at a senior level including NAIL and Denel.

17. Don Mkhwanazi, a former president of the Black Management Forum with a good track record in campaigning for broad-based black economic empowerment.

18. Dr Claudia Manning, businesswoman who has worked extensively as adviser on policy issues as well as transaction advice pertaining to Public Private Partnerships BBBEE and local and regional economic development strategy.

19. Chantyl Mulder, senior executive for transformation and growth at the SA Institute of Chartered Accountants, who has served as facilitator of the BEE Charter process amongst other work on economic transformation.

President Zuma wished the new members well in their tasks of assisting the country to achieve meaningful economic transformation

You may also like...